How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]


Written by Mark Arvin Tychingco. Reviewed by Deepak Prasad

It's likely that if you play video games, you've heard of Discord. You can quickly locate, join, and communicate with pals with this voice and text chat program that was created for gamers. It functions on both your desktop and phone for free and securely. The easiest method to stay in touch with your friends and the gaming community is through Discord. You can easily stay in touch with those who are important to you using Discord without ever leaving your game. The app is regularly updated with new features and upgrades, making it the greatest way to remain in touch with your gaming community. You can either create your own Discord server or join one in Discord. Both has it own perks.

Building your own community from scratch is not easy task. From building the bots required to gaining members for your community. But there will be a time that you might want to delete your server, usually for wanting to disband the community for different and various reasons.

In this article, we will guide you on how to delete a Discord server.

 

Why do you Delete a Discord Server?

Deleting a Discord server will automatically remove all the members from your community. This means that the server will no longer be on the server's list of your members and noone can join back since you've wiped off your server from Discord.

Joining a social platform requires careful management and moderation of your Discord server and community, whether to leave a situation or recognize when it's time to wipe the server clean. You'll need to be prepared to take on the role of janitor in either situation though and it might be difficult to manage or you just want to disband the community. You'll also never know when you'll need that additional room for another server if you want to create a new community and peace of mind, away from the toxic internet.

Whatever reason you have to delete your community or Discord server, think twice. After deletion, you will have no way of accessing or retrieving your Discord server.

 

How do I Delete a Discord Server on Windows/Mac PC?

Note: You have to be the OWNER OF THE SERVER before you can delete the Discord server. ONLY THE OWNER can delete the Discord server.

Here's a detailed step by step guide on how to delete a Discord server on Windows/Mac PC.

 

Step 1. Open your Discord App

Open your Discord application thru browser or on the Desktop application. Make sure that you've installed the latest version of the application.

 

Step 2. Go to a Server that you Own

Go to the server that you want to delete. For this instance, I will be using our test server, GoLinuxCloud Test Server and we will be deleting this server.

Note: Make sure you are the OWNER OF THE SERVER so that you can have the option to delete the server.

How to check Audit Logs on Discord? [SOLVED]

 

Step 3. Go to Server Settings

Click on the Server's name. You will see that a drop down menu will appear. These are the settings that you can change on your server or a server that you manage. Click on "Server Settings".

How to check Audit Logs on Discord? [SOLVED]

 

Step 4. Delete Server

On the bottom part of the settings, you will see "Delete Server".

Note: Make sure you are the OWNER OF THE SERVER so that you can have the option to delete the server.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

Step 5. Confirm Deletion

You will now be asked if you really want to delete the server. This action cannot be undone once initiated. You will not retrieve your server back. Click on "Delete Server" if you really want to delete your own server.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

Step 6. Authentication for Deletion

If you have 2FA Authentication, you will be asked to input the auth code.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

How do I Delete a Discord Server on Android/IOS Devices?

Note: You have to be the OWNER OF THE SERVER before you can delete the Discord server. ONLY THE OWNER can delete the Discord server.

Here's a detailed step by step guide on how to delete a Discord server on Android/IOS Devices.

 

Step 1. Open your Application

Open your Discord Application. Make sure that you have the latest version.

 

Step 2. Go to the Server

Go to the server that you want to delete. For this instance, I will be using our test server, GoLinuxCloud Test Server and we will be deleting this server. Click on the Server's Name.

Note: Make sure you are the OWNER OF THE SERVER so that you can have the option to delete the server.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

Step 3. Go to Server Settings

Go to the Server's Settings located at the left side of the options below the server's name.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

Click on Overview

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

At the bottom part of the Overview settings, you will see "Delete Server".

Note: Make sure you are the OWNER OF THE SERVER so that you can have the option to delete the server.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

Step 4. Delete Server

You will now be asked if you really want to delete the server. This action cannot be undone once initiated. You will not retrieve your server back. Click on "Delete Server" if you really want to delete your own server.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

Step 5. Provide Authentication Code

If you have 2FA Authentication, you will be asked to inputh the auth code.

How to PROPERLY delete Discord Server [SOLVED]

 

Summary

Discord has been the mainstream messaging app for large communities in the past few years. It has alot of supporters and userbase since it covers most of the needs from building communities to communication. Building a community and gaining members for Discord is not an easy task though, but deleting a Discord server is easy. You might not have enough time to manage the server or just want to dissolve the community that is becoming toxic. Note that only the owner of the server can delete the server. After deleting the Discord server, you cannot retrieve or view the server anymore, so think twice. Once you made your mind and really want to delete your Discord server, you just need to go to settings then scroll down. At the bottom part of the settings, you will see Delete Server and confirm. Remember to think twice before deleting your server!

 

Mark Arvin Tychingco

He specializes in a myriad of fields including Web Design, NFT Art, web3.js, Discord Bot Development, Writing, Community Engagement, Discord, Communication Skills, Bot Development, Blockchain, Social Media Management, Cryptocurrency, PHP, Business Development, and Telegram. You can connect with him on LinkedIn , Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram.

Can't find what you're searching for? Let us assist you.

Enter your query below, and we'll provide instant results tailored to your needs.

If my articles on GoLinuxCloud has helped you, kindly consider buying me a coffee as a token of appreciation.

Buy GoLinuxCloud a Coffee

For any other feedbacks or questions you can send mail to admin@golinuxcloud.com

Thank You for your support!!

Leave a Comment